I really like being alone

I’ve just been doing it wrong! This afternoon, after taking all my multiply-photocopied documents to the International Office, I went to a cafe downtown and sat for over an hour, spending some quality time with my journal. I really am my own best friend, and it was great to get back in touch. We reflected on things like how, in class today (which was awesome and dynamic and abstract, by the way) the girls told me that giant SUVs actually mean the same thing here that they do in America — “The bigger the car, the cooler the guy who is inside it.” Maybe Russia’s not so big and scary and different after all. If I can understand SUVs, I can understand anything! But then an eighteen-wheeler drove by as I was waiting to cross the street on my way home, and I got all confused again. Oh well.

2 thoughts on “I really like being alone

  1. I’m the same way, I need at least an hour a day where it is just me, myself, & I. Luckily I have about a 35 minute commute to work so even if I have a busy day I have a chance to just “center” myself :-)

Comments are closed.